Which format and category should I choose?

At Spartan, there are formats and categories suitable for all levels.



SPRINT 5K, 20 Obstacles:

The Spartan Sprint puts endurance aside and test your speed through about 5 km and 20 Obstacles. An ideal distance for beginners, or a perfect race against the clock for more advanced runners.

SUPER 10K, 25 Obstacles:

The Spartan Super is as much a mental as a physical test, with its course of more than 10 km, this format is very demanding with some 25 obstacles present on the course.

BEAST 21K, 30 Obstacles:

The Spartan Beast is simply the advanced level. This race is the longest and most difficult of our three main types of races, and it lives up to its name with its brutal half marathon circuit and over 30 obstacles blocking your way to the finish line.


The Elite Category

These athletes are competing to win prize money, test themselves against the best of the best, attract potential sponsors, and rise to the top of the Spartan Race Point Series. Elite Racers, like all Spartan athletes, commit to flawless sportsmanship and adhere strictly to the race rules and guidelines. Racers who fail to follow these guidelines risk disqualification. If you have to ask yourself if you are elite, you probably aren’t.

The Age Group Category (formerly Competitive Category)

The Age Group Category, formerly known as “Competitive” is a series of heats placed immediately after the Elite category. Age Group racers will follow the same rules and standards as the Elite racers. Age Group heats will be officiated by on-course referees, video review, and feature an Age Group points series with exciting prizes, podium awards, and athlete rankings. Age Group Racers believe they could win or place in a given race when stacked against only the best of the best within their designated age group.

Open Category

The Open category is for everyone, period. Weekend warriors, novice athletes, first-time racers, and teams are all welcome here. The Open category offers the same opportunity as the Competitive and Elite categories to get far outside your comfort zone, test your body’s limits, and experience the awesome rush of the finish line. However, there’s no pressure to push your pace. Regardless of which category you race in, all finishes will count toward the completion of a TRIFECTA or Spartan DELTA. Spartan Races are timed, judged and ranked. And there is rules that need to be respected by all racers. There is Elite & Competitive racer rules and there is open racers rules. 

Do you want more ? Discover our ENDURANCE formats.



Was this article helpful?
3 out of 3 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request


Article is closed for comments.
Powered by Zendesk